A Weaving…

My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…


i sleep with the pastor

Yesterday I did something that may be a bit “scandalous” for me…

I wore this shirt to church. Stay with me a minute…

The last couple months, Stephen has been teaching through 1 Corinthians. When you preach exegetically (studying the Bible in order), you lose the luxury of being able to skip over hard passages… instead, it’s like going on a bear hunt…

Can’t go over it,
Can’t go under it,
Can’t go around it,
Got to go through it.

So, into 1 Corinthians 6 & 7, we dove. I don’t know if I’ve heard the word ‘sex’ more from a pulpit than I have the last two weeks… and Stephen’s still not done with chapter 7 so, there will be more. (Join us on Sundays at 9:15 or 11… ha!)

This past week, as a couple friends and I were talking, one mentioned seeing a similar shirt online somewhere. I began to thinking that there was no better week, and no better way, than to lend my visible support to this man of mine.

Week in and week out, he pours himself out over the Scriptures and sound resources to craft a message for our people. A message every week that is often counter-cultural and requires the Holy Spirit to help hearts lean in and understand.

So, why the shirt? Well, let’s start with looking at these two young faces…

These two faces had no idea what the next 25 years held… they were filled with selfishness and pride… but God… He has been merciful and gracious to us, year after year… to use the good, bad and the ugly to help us understand more and more the two greatest commandments… Love God. Love Others.

Marriage is a die-to-self business… one where we must first love God and then secondly, we must choose to love others more than ourselves, day in and day out. And so, I wore the shirt yesterday as a way to affirm to our people that this man does in fact pursue Jesus as his greatest treasure and because of that pursuit, he has died to himself thousands of times in our marriage… what he is preaching, he believes. What he is preaching, he lives. He loves God. He loves others… especially me, well.

So… I wore the shirt… and I choose to sleep with the preacher.

(pssst… lest you think I’m suddenly uber bold… I wore a cardigan… it was visible but not obvious…)

(pssst, again… easiest way to embarrass your teenage & older kids… wear a shirt like this.)



Leave a comment

About Me

A wife. A mom. A daughter. A sister.
A pastor’s wife.
A Mousewife.
Right brain. Left brain.

Newsletter