My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

In Holding… 

Sitting in room 308 we are in holding…   There’s a group of us in holding… And waiting…  We have mere hours before boarding a plane to go serve alongside friends in Haiti. 

When I was 17 I packed my bags, kissed my mom goodbye and headed overseas for my first mission trip… 

Missions have always intrigued me.  I remember eating fried bananas in GAs, listening to friends talk about their time in India, feeling pulled to some exotic location in my teens and dreaming of who knows what…  It seemed terribly romantic in some weird way…  Lottie Moon and Annie Armstrong…  They have entire seasonal offerings named after them for Petes sake… 

So, when opportunity came to start my traveling I used all forms of persuasion and logic to gain permission from my parents to go… 

Fast forward several years and Stephen and I began planning for a life overseas.  We had plans and aspirations…  Then life interrupted and our course was altered…  

Enter married life…  Over our almost 17 years together we have done missions together almost every year… Ukraine, Lebanon, Philippines, Kenya and Haiti.  Each trip unique and so different… 

Here’s the deal though…  Until last year I didn’t have a current passport for most of those years and my feet never left American soil…  I was in holding. 

Holding is tough…  So many of Stephens trips I would plan and prep activities, calculate costs, weighe luggage strategically (I can pack a mean 49.6 lb bag!) and kiss my man goodbye…  Then kiss him hello, have a good American meal on the table and listen to the stories.  Oh what great stories…  

But this isn’t the full picture…  Those weeks in those trips my stomach would turn, I didn’t sleep (I would paint, refinish cabinets, hang shower curtains and pictures), I would take the kids on road trips to family… But most of all I yearned… Ached…  Physically hurt wanting to go and be and do with the teams who were serving…  

But. I was in holding.  It wasn’t my time to be serving in that capacity.  (And, I knew I was a part of the team…  It just wasn’t always easy when it wasn’t the role I desired…) God had me placed in holding…  

It’s always His plan, His timing, His calling… His move…. 

Tonight. I sit again in holding. But a different holding… I’m waiting with friends in a hotel room for a few more hours before boarding a plane. 

I am so exited.  This is year two of hitting Haitian soil.  Year two of introducing old friends to new friends.  Year two of packing and squeezing and pushing and pulling all types of stuff into luggage of every size and shape that our friends and family collected and gave whole heartedly to share with the Agape kids and friends… Year two of FBCnl partnering with the Byxbe family… Year two watching our teams faces and hearts shift and change as their experience life on mission…  Year two of getting sweaty for the Gospel.   It doesn’t get old… 

So as I wait these last few hours… My heart is full and Bursting with gratitude…. 

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. (‭Ephesians‬ ‭2‬:‭10‬ ESV)

Gods prepared these moments…   God has prepared these friends for these moments and all of it for His glory…  

Leave a Reply

