My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Weary…

Weary, burdened wanderer,
there is rest for thee

at the feet of Jesus in His love, so free.

Listen to His message,
words of life, forever blest.
Oh, thou heavy-laden,
come to me, come and rest

There is freedom, taste and see.
Hear the call, come to me.
Run into His arms of grace.
Your burden carried,
He will take…

Bring Him all thy burdens,
all thy guilt and sin.
Mercy’s door is open,
rise up and enter in…

Jesus, there is waiting patiently for thee. 
Hear Him gently calling, come, oh, come to me.
Come, oh, come to me. Come, oh, come to me

There is freedom, taste and see. 
Hear the call, come to me. 
Run into His arms of grace. 
Your burden carried, 
He will take…

Over the past few weeks, okay maybe more like months… I have really struggled with feeling worn out and done… weary.   I’ve battled the “I’m done!” mood to the “woe is me” mood to the “suck it up and it’s go time!” mood to the “this is urgent… it matters eternally…  let’s do it!” mood.  

Then…  then… in the bottom moments either a refreshing breath comes from somewhere (a friend stepping in to help, a reminder of eternal things, a song, a verse, a Word from somewhere from my Father…) or… my mood is equalized by perspective…  I’m either gently reminded of my blessings or I’m whooped over the head with a reminder that I am blessed… beyond blessed…  

Facebook, news and friends texts have been lit up over the past few weeks with hurt and tragedy…  loss, sickness, injuries, hurts, persecutions, desperations…  too many too label, name or to call out…  and some I can reach out and identify with and some I’m simply speechless because I’m not sure how you process certain things…  I don’t know how you deal with your children facing death or dying…  I simply don’t.  [We have one child waiting for us in heaven and while we grieved that little life that was only 9 weeks old, I never wrapped my arms around that child…  I never laughed with him or her… so I will never venture to compare that loss with the loss of a child born and lived with… never.]

My grandmother did… countless mothers do…  a few of my friends have walked this path… I have not… my Father, He has…  

He urges : Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls…. (Matthew 11:28-30)

I’m not sure where you’re at today, if you’re reading this but if you have a minute… sit… click the link below and listen to this song.  It has washed over me countless times and been an oasis for a moment or two…  

Come To Me: Michael Bleecker

Run into His arms of grace. 
Your burden carried, He will take…

Leave a Reply

