My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Risk and Reward….

This past weekend our small group that we host at our home, most of the time, resumed…  we kicked off with a bonfire at a friends home on Friday night… and we pre-kicked off the previous week with a bonfire at another friend’s home…  yes we like food.  Yes, we like bonfires.  Yes, we like each other…  Yes… we like food, and we have some good cooks among us!  

The time with our Group is precious to me… they are like family.  In our almost 14 years of marriage we have had two groups that have been long term and they have come to be significant in our lives and I believe it’s because of the little things.  It’s not the big, every once in a while events or occasions… those are nice but… it’s the every day things.  It’s regular dinners together. It’s connecting through Facebook.  It’s dying at Insanity together… so on and so forth…    

Being in ministry at times has been isolating…  And I know, personally and virtually, ministry wives that struggle with loneliness and seclusion and hurt…  Many of these have been wounded by church members, by family, by friends, by co-leaders in the ministry and are walking wounded now.  Through our 13 years of ministry life, Stephen and I have experienced wounding… One Sunday in particular I remember walking into the church doors wanting to run right back out so heavily bandaged, broken and bleeding that I don’t know how we made it through those 4-5 hours that week…  BUT…  

At some point after being wounded, when the dust had settled I realized that for me, for my family… people and friendships are worth the risk.  I don’t want to be a lone ranger…

Here’s the deal though… I know that being my friend comes with certain risk and liabilities.  I’m sure there are rewards simply because there are rewards to any friendship that you or I enjoy but… being friends with Stephen or I come with risks…

You may be asked to read scripture on stage, or find some crazy prop for FBCKids, or befriend someone for us or share your story in public…  or possibly defend us to someone who disagrees with us…  

We know that being friends with us costs something and because of that it makes us even more grateful for those people that stand around us, stand next to us, do life with us and support us…  I know there is risk for our friends and we are reaping the rewards of friendships but hopefully like all friendships, there is reward both ways…  

and if you are currently afraid of the risk of friendship…  say a prayer and step out…  the rewards of friendships far outweigh the risks…   we weren’t meant to do life alone.  

ImageMost of our Small Group Summer of 2013

Image

Small Group Halloween 2004 (I think… could be 2005… I don’t feel like figuring out the math 🙂  It’s Monday.)

2 responses

  1. I LOVE this! Perfectly said and well lived! Praying as I risk it and ask others to risk it, too!

    10 September 2013 at 6:47 am

  2. Amy

    Great post! Definitely risk and benefit both ways 🙂 We are blessed to have had those years of doing life so closely together!

    10 September 2013 at 9:50 pm

Leave a Reply

