My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Counting Sheep…

Betty-and-Bob-by-the-fire-611x343

If you’re worried and you cant sleep,
just count your blessings instead of sheep
and you’ll fall asleep counting your blessings.

One of my all time favorite, favorite, FAVORITE movies is White Christmas. Love it. Love it. Love it. Did I mention I love it. The costumes. The Music. The… Snow… Snow… Snow… Snow… SNOW… It won’t be long before… well, I’ll hush in case I offend a summer loving someone.

One of my favorite scenes is Bob and Betty around the fire late at night and Bob, Bing really… is singing the song above… I realize that this isn’t a worship song or anything like that BUT… I do think there is great truth in it. I can be a worrier. I can hold things inside until they eat me… but there is great freedom in recognizing how blessed I am.

When life gets crazy… I am blessed because it is crazy. While there is always something greener somewhere, there is also grass that is withered beyond recognition and full of bare spots and I am blessed to have a yard that has green grass it… yes, it has some weeds. Yes, it’s been trampled in some spots but man, when I step back and really consider it… I can only say I am blessed.

Five years ago, Sophia Nicole, the neon 5 year old that resides with us now… was an emerging neon 5 and a half month old and she crawled for the first time on this date for a piece of Groceryland Fried Chicken. We were in our new home, spending the evening painting and had stopped to have a picnic dinner of fried chicken and macaroni salad and low and behold… she finally figured out how to get at what she was missing!

In the words of Edith Bunker… “THOSE were the days!”

Now, five years later… we have another 5 and half month old named Addison Allyn who we are hoping remains pastel in personality… we have yet to have a pastel personality so here’s to holding out hope… She’s on the verge of crawling and sitting back tonight I realize that because of the great God that I serve the blessings in my life are too many too count….

So tonight, as my head hits the pillow sooner than later the voice of Ol’ Blue Eyes will echo in my head and I will be counting my blessings.

Leave a Reply

