My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Potpourri…

In case you didn’t stumble across this, Nick @ Nite is having a Friends marathon this week.  One of my guilty pleasures is Friends.  We have laid in bed laughing the last couple nights and last night one episode was on where Ross has come back from England without Emily and he’s trying to win her back so he sends her 72 long stem red roses.  He then receives a box with “72 long stem red roses mulched, but that’s okay, Monica’s going to make potpourri.”

Love it.  And with that, I knew today’s post wasn’t going to be anything significant so I called it Potpourri.  A little bit of everything.

Coffee is a great way to start off a cool fall morning, especially in a Duck, NC cup.

It also makes me say a prayer for those home owners and business owners that are in Duck right now recovering from the storm.  Craziness the amount of chaos and damage that something as simple as water… hydrogen & oxygen… can cause.

One of my favorite songs right now is God is Able by Hillsong.  Love it… the music and the message.  Another home run by Hillsong.  (I tried to post a link to it but… can’t…  oh wait…  Click here. Or at least try to… if google it :o)

Laundry.  I hate it. But I’m almost caught up for the week.  Do you have any major laundry quirks.  I don’t empty change from the washing machine until there’s a dollar in it.  Also, Hershey’s Chocolate Chapstick WILL come out of a Nike golf shirt with a LOT of elbow grease and a laundry soap bar.

I LOVE when kids dump CLEAN clothes in the laundry basket.  Love it.

Right now, Stephen and I have been talking and dreaming and it’s so hard… no, it simply takes  a lot of self control and restraint to remember that vision/dreams/goals have phases.  A, B, C.  But just as important each phase has steps… 1, 2, 3.  And it’s better all the way around to go in order.  Something that Andy Stanley shared on a podcast that Truett Cathy had said in a board meeting is so true not just in business, not just in church life, but in home life, in every area…  (and I’m not quoting exactly…)  The goal should be to get bigger.  It should be to get better because once we’re better customers will demand we get bigger.  Love it.  That statement leads to one word that is my dad’s favorite.

Focus.

(Which this post had none of… but that’s what I’ve got for today!)

One response

  1. I love the randomness of your blog…it’s always so fun & good! My laundry rule is that anything left in pockets becomes mine when I do the laundry. That can be good or bad… I’ve also started sorting the clean clothes out of the laundry, put them to the side and pile them back into the kids’ laundry basket with the clean clothes to be put away…They haven’t noticed yet…
    Thanks for the reminder that life is a process and as wonderful as our dreams and goals are, they must be reached in a step by step manner. Striving to enjoy the steps rather than only the goal today. Thanks so much for sharing- keep writing! It’s good! 🙂

    9 September 2011 at 3:14 am

Leave a Reply

