My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Running…

Yeah, you may have been faked out by the title.  I have not taken up running.  Would like to but… have you seen outside?  And I have no treadmill.  I have one in mind but it’s not here yet.

Anyways… yesterday was a great day of worship and communion at church.  We used our service for just that.  Stephen shared the significance and purpose of communion and brought the simple, powerful message but there wasn’t a regular, full legnth message.

Wanna know a cool secret though?!?  We had FIVE people pray to receive Christ through the service yesterday!  Amazing!  Proof that the gospel never returns void.  Never.

I had thought about posting about the fact that I loved the service yesterday… I did!  It was a tremendous morning where the Spirit of the Lord was ever present.  But, then I get stumped in the words to describe it…  Why is that?

I had dinner on Saturday night at PF Changs with an incredible group of ladies.  These ladies were such variety of age, careers, current lifestage, everything but they are so lovely and the night was so good.  Sitting that the table though I was moved internally with this thought.  The ladies that I sat surrounded by are dealing with crap in their lives right now.  Almost each and every one of them are being handed a full plate of testing and trials at the moment and for a few hours I think they were able simply to eat and laugh… I hope.

In realizing that, I also admired the strength and dignity and faith that was present.  These ladies are dealing with complications in pregnancy, caring for elderly parents, recent deaths, wayward children, sicknesses and surgeries and on and on and on… we’re not talking about “I’m out of butter crisis'”  These ladies are tough!

It was humbling to sit there to because right now…  aside from minor things (such as having to cook without animal byproducts for the past three weeks! ) we are blessed and good and life is good.  And here I sit as their pastor’s wife… younger than the majority (not all… there were a few that make me feel old… older sister-ish… non mom-ish, yet!) and the thought crossed through my head…

How on earth am I equipped… how am I supposed to be able to minister in these situations when I haven’t the foggiest?  We have had a ton of experience in our lives and in ministry but we can’t possibly have experienced everything…  and the burdens that people are walking through those doors with are huge.  HUGE!

*** I’m sitting trying to calculate the whatever that is rolling around inside right now…***

The privilege and honor and responsibility and joy that I feel in sitting at  table with such ladies… crafting with them for a local mission tomorrow night… and worshipping with them and their husbands and families from week to week… is indescribable.

I don’t like to hyper spiritualize stuff but…  with everything that is going on in our church, in our faith family right now… we are being attacked because lives are being changed!!!  We had record baptisms last year.  We had over 20!!! people experience life change through our Christmas services.  People are staying, people are serving…  the change is rippling through families and we are making a difference in our town…

(Back to yesterday)…  sitting at the piano through worship yesterday I have a dear, dear friend on my left that is facing major surgery next week singing her guts out giving God the glory.  There’s a guy to her left whose family is so dear to ours that is expecting a child in June.  That child, sweet Lydia, faces an uncertain future and yet her daddy is displaying his confidence in his Savior through leading our faith family to the throne.

It’s humbling.  So humbling…  the privilege that has been laid at our friends feet… they have been entrusted with displaying their faith to their unsaved friends and family  through their present walk…  they are passing the tests and God is getting the glory through their lives.  Incredible.

We sang this song yesterday and currently it is one of my favorites…

You are good, when there’s nothing good in me
You are love, on display for all to see
You are light when the darkness closes in
You are hope.  You have covered all my sin.
You are peace when my fear is crippling
You are true even in my wandering.
You are joy, You’re the reason that I sing
You are life, in You death has lost its sting.

I’m running to Your arms!
The riches of Your love will always be enough
Nothing compares to Your embrace
Light of the world forever reign

You are more, than my words will ever say
You are Lord, all creation will proclaim
You are here, in Your presence I’m made whole
You are God, of all else I’m letting go

My heart will sing no other name… Jesus, Jesus.

____

Our hearts will sing… no other name… Jesus.  We’re running to Your arms.
Thank you, for the privilege of serving You.

One response

  1. I like this. It’s a lot like what I’m going through right now, too. Makes me extremely grateful for the life God has given me.
    Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to meeting you soon, whether in Nashville or via chat!

    25 January 2011 at 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

