My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

The Glory of a Funeral…

I’ve been to a few… I’m not an expert or a funeral crasher… nor do I ever care to be. Truth be told: I hate them. They mean loss… yes, something ventured, something gained… but here in the flesh… they stink like a week old sippy cup with curdled milk. Just speaking frankly… frankly.

Today though… it was the least favorite of all of mine… and I’ve been to some doosies… When I was in 6th grade I went to a celebration of the life of a 6th grader that died of TB… rough stuff but she lived valiantly and faithfully and fought to the end… My own grandmothers.. they both lost their battles with lung cancer and found peace with the Father…. Pappaw’s funeral a couple years ago… by far the best man that I’ve ever know… found peace with his Maker after several months in the hospital battling for recovery… a few of them who’s lives were ended by a car accident…

Life is frail and each funeral that I’ve attended has reminded me of that. It is short, should be lived with passion… but it will end.

Today though, my heart has been broken open wide… not so much for the life lost… and before you get mad… I grief heavily for Kristina… but she’s up in heaven enjoying life to the absolute fullest… I grieve for those left because they have no answers as to why she left this earth. There is no reason at this point… and one might be discovered in the days and weeks to come but right now… there is none…

She was a beautiful girl who loved the Lord passionately and served him more faithfully day in and day out that I do… and yet she choose to meet her Maker last Friday.

The funeral today was a celebration of her life and dear friends of our have had the heavy job of ministering to those left behind… it was said by her youth pastor on Sunday night that we can’t keep milling on the why’s but now we need to push forward and ask what now… where next…

This can be used for God’s glory… The funeral today was rough… there was a video of her playing her guitar with her brother and them singing “GLory to God” by Fee…

That song is one of my favorites and I desire those words to be true of me… our dear friends closed the funeral with that song too… O how I pray…

Take my life and let it be,
all of You and for Your glory,
Take my life and let it be Yours…

Glory to God, GLory to God,
Glory to God forever…

Sometimes I really don’t get it but whatever the course may it be used for His glory… forever.

Leave a Reply

