My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Bon Appetit…

I’m sitting in the quietness that is normal for almost 12:30 am.  My youngest is on the couch next to me, crash for the past couple hours.  The middle one is in MY bed with my pillow having just fallen asleep to the latest Indiana Jones movie.  Stephen is zonked and the oldest spent the night with a friend.  They were going to get to go swimming so I hope they had a great night…

We went out for the evening earlier… we had a couple returns to do at the mall from CHRISTMAS!  Uh, hello… about time.  Then we headed to Charlie’s favorite restaurant.  Red Robin.  It’s another place we have down to a science.  We, Stephen and I, split a whiskey river burger, tomato on the side so I can have it and Stephen doesn’t have to touch it, then we can get drinks.  Not that drink…  Stephen gets a chocolate milkshake and I get the raspberry limeade.  Delight.

We swung by Family Christian on the way, I love that store, picked up a couple cd’s, a book, and a magazine and headed home.  The boys went to the bedroom and I rented a movie I’ve been wanting to see…

Julie/Julia.  It was good.  I won’t say it was the best ever but I really, really enjoyed it and the story.  I kinda get the lady.  There’s something to be said about not really having a clear cut direction and feeling a little lost at times.  And, I love cooking, although I must admit Mastering the Art of French Cooking has never appealed while mastering Pioneers Woman’s Cookbook has a ton of appeal.  I don’t know what that says about me though because they probably each contain the same amount of butter.  Seriously.

The past few weeks have been really crazy.  Not like hair-pulling crazy.  Just simply back to the routine crazy…  and it’s honestly taken me a couple weeks to get back into the groove.  You see… I could probably look you straight in the eyes and say, “I feel no need to compete with June Cleaver or Mrs. Prov31…”  And in some way I would even believe it.  But.  Well, simply put… But.

I.  Do.  Feel.  The.  Need.  (and confession… when I can’t or when I’m feeling really inadequate I tend to shut down.)  Give me any list and I can knock out each item faster than you can say it.  Give me a room to organize, it will be alphabetical.  Leave me in my life where I feel like I’m spinning my wheels with no tangible progress…  goodbye world, goodbye.  (I’m hoping you heard the Cathedrals when I said that last line.  If not, look it up.  Great song.)

Anyways…  The book that I picked up… okay, I picked it up… Stephen bought it for me is called… are you ready?!?

Ta-Da. So, beginning Monday… my house will be worthy of June and Mrs. 31 because it will clean itself.  Oh shoot… I fell asleep and was dreaming.

Anyways, I’m only through a chapter and a half and something made sense.  Not only for our house/home but for my life.  She says you must have your HBZ… Home Base Zone.  One place… any place… that can set your mood.  One place that if it’s clean, all is well and if dirty… well, the bottom has fallen out.  I’m not quite sure of my place yet.  I have a couple thoughts rolling around but her premise is… make HBZ your priority.  Promise that no matter what befalls…  that one place will be inspectable, clean, picked up at all times…  So, you choose your HBZ and there is your peace spot.

And I was thinking… hmmm, I think life in general is kinda like that… If I’m not on top of anything or on task with anything I’m completely tail-spinning… But, if I can keep one area together and focused and on point… well, it’s all easier to handle.

Not sure what that means but maybe in the morning it will make sense.  Or, maybe the book will tell me.

I do know that today felt successful.  It’s amazing how good the little things sometimes feel…  I finished my assignment for my Illustrator Class.  Finally choose a movie poster to replicate for my Photoshop final project (not due for several weeks but there’s several phases…)  Here it is:

I love this movie, mostly because it makes me uncomfortable and makes me cry.  But it makes my insides intensely patriotic and in general, I love it.  Anyways…

I paid bills.  I folded socks.  I processed a couple Pampered Chef orders.

My To Do list still has things that need to be crossed off.  I’m not sure I’ll ever manage Prov.31 status…  while watching the movie, it crossed my to maybe take that challenge and post about.  Then I reconsidered.   Then I considered.  I re-read that dreaded chapter 31 and truth be known.  She’s a mighty fine woman.  One that I would love to be… and quite honestly, each of us could choose to be her.

I’m sure this mighty woman had melt downs but a legacy doesn’t speak of the exceptions… they speak of the majority.  So…  quite honestly, this should be my pursuit.

I’ve got several aims for this year.  Some big.  Some small.  Some new.  Some old.  I am going to implement the new book I bought because I think it’s going to be a good fit.  I would like to get art hung on my walls.  I would like to establish more routines.  But in general, two verse stuck out.  If this could be my legacy.

She speaks with wisdom,
and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:

I would stand before my Father fulfilled.

Until later… Au revoir

One response

  1. Pam

    ummm….I’m inspired.

    4 February 2010 at 2:49 am

Leave a Reply

