My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Not A Creature Was Stirring…

Now this is Christmas… White Christmas is on the TV (have I ever mentioned how passionately I love this movie… one of my favorite songs… well, I can’t say that, I seriously love this movie and so much of the movie. One of my top five is ‘Snow’… LOVE IT! Anyways, I digressed…)

It’s quiet through the house. The children are all nestled in their beds (that’s a nice word isn’t it… nestled. It seems cozy.) ‘Santa’ has come. My wrapping paper all matches… three nights ago I ran out of Santa paper. That was a tragedy. I got the paper from Hobby Lobby… we have two kinds. Green foiled with brighter green 2″ dots and Red foiled with a swirly florally pattern in it. It looks great. Only, I ran out with two presents to go. A friend’s husband came to the rescue since he works by Hobby Lobby… Buddy the elf delivered the paper yesterday… thanks Brian!

The stockings have been filled. The cocoa has been drank down, leaving the last drop. The cookies have been eaten and the last one nibbled… the carrots gnawed… the coke drank (yes, Santa likes the bottles with his picture on it).

This afternoon we had Christmas with Stephen’s family. His uncle, aunt and cousins came into town and brought Mammaw with them for dinner and a gift exchange. I really enjoy spending time with them and hate that they live in Louisville. I realize that’s not timbucktwo but it’s a bit away. (and Ann, I know you’ll read this and I’m not trying to brown nose… we really do enjoy your family and wish we could get together more…)

Then we headed to church for our Christmas Eve service. It was simple, sweet and I love it. We closed with Silent Night. (Do not ever get me started on NOT closing with Silent Night. I realize it is not right to be ruled by traditions however, most of the traditions I grew up with, I have had to outgrow… there is one thing that means Christmas and that is the candlelight service and closing with Silent Night and then ending accapella… don’t mess with it.

So, now here I sit. I’m excited about tomorrow. The kids getting up. This could be our first early year… we’ve gotten extremely lucky in past years… we don’t have early risers however, I think Charlie’s going to kick it up a notch this year… we’ll see.

For the next week or so, I aim to savor it… when January comes we will be jumping into a new year… head first and at 45 mph. But right, it’s a silent night…

And I can sit and count my blessings (instead of sheep… sorry, I’m still watching ‘White Christmas’)…

Blessings to you and have a very Merry Christmas…

PS… If you normally get a Christmas card from us it’s coming… I had a brilliant idea and then procrastinated. Imagine that…

PPS… Oh, and if you’re wondering… I think I mentioned it… I had surgery earlier this month and I have completely healed… WHOO HOO!

One response

  1. So was it an early morning on Christmas?

    Loved your retelling of the Eve. Made me want to re-live last week all over again.

    You ran out of wrapping paper. We ran out of Scotch tape at 10:30 p.m. Christmas Eve. Have you ever wrapped gifts with green painter’s tape?

    Yep.

    2 January 2010 at 1:18 pm

Leave a Reply

