My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Blessed…

“Greetings, you who are highly favored!  The Lord is with you.”
Mary was greatly troubled at his words and wondered what kind of greeting this might be. But the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, you have found favor with God.  You will be with child and give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus. He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High.  The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, and he will reign over the house of Jacob forever; his kingdom will never end.”

Confession:  I love Christmas.  period.

But, here’s the deal.  Why?  I have a sinking feeling that it’s because I’m blessed…  Would I be in love with Christmas if I couldn’t afford to get my kids gifts, or if I wasn’t able to make delicious junk that makes me fat but I love to give away (in order to share the joy :O)  Would I love it if I didn’t have a family, both in and outlaws, to share it with?  What if I couldn’t participate in Christmas productions?  What if?

I don’t know…  I have those things.  I experience those things.

Christmas comes down to a baby… a baby that was born to a girl that was probably scared witless.  I’ll never forget going into the hospital to deliver Madeline, there was a younger girl on the elevator with us going up, too.  She was alone.  I don’t know that she didn’t have someone meeting her there but at that moment she was alone.  I know that Mary had Joseph but she was in a BARN!  And her family wasn’t anywhere close by, and this child wasn’t Joseph’s… they were humans, there had to be some crazy, scary stuff swirling around in their heads.  Anyways, back to the babe…

I suppose simply put… my life is richly blessed because of that baby.  That child that was born so long ago that holds the promise of reigning forever…

I don’t really know what’s eating at my brain and gnawling at my soul but I suppose in a weird way it’s gratitude and feeling completely inept…  My kids don’t know what it’s like to not have food, they don’t know what it’s like to not have clothes that fit them (okay, right now we can’t find jeans that fit Madeline but give me a break… just ask her to pull them up if you see her…) or that can keep them warm on these cold winter days, they have security.  They have a mom who yells to much because she loves them too much…  (twisted I know but at the core of it… yes it’s true)

While, we have already started and pretty much finished the Christmas shopping and we have plans for the CHristmas experiences yet to come their way to make this Christmas magical and meaningful…  (there is a place for both Santa and Jesus…) we know that we are blessed.

We have been blessed beyond belief and we know that with blessings come obligations.  We’re required to, sorry to borrow this but… pay it forward.  What can we do?  You and I can do a lot…  there’s all sorts of ministry opportunities to touch people’s lives this year.  Near and far…  Send a shoebox (check!), give financially toward a ministry like Lottie Moon (next week, check!), contact a local school to find out if there are local families that are really have a tough Christmas season… they’ll let you help.

But, here’s the thing…  I’m feeling very full right now, probably a little over dramatic at this moment, but it’s my blog so back off… just kidding!  I want to savor the next two weeks.  I want to maximize them to their fullest potential.  I want them to have be filled with everything that Christmas has always included for me… lights, music, food, friends, quiet nights, Christmas specials (even the corny ones… love ’em), laughter, a simple Christmas Eve service that ends with Silent Night (don’t get me started on not ending with Silent Night… you won’t win!).

I want my kids in twenty years to be able to FEEL Christmas just in their memories.  I want them to be able to remember that they were blessed in their childhood and I pray that they will never forget that and that it will instill in them a spiritual and moral obligation to keep Christmas alive.

I get that some of this may sound superficial… our Savior, our King came to this world to save us.  But He also came that we might have life to the fullest…   and I truly think that He can receive glory in this season, even if it’s over marketed.  Is there any time of year when more people are willing to give to strangers?  Is there another point in the year when people will smile and say Merry Christmas, or Happy Holidays (don’t worry about them being a scrooge… because if you do you’ll look like a scrooge… just say Merry Christmas back to them and move on…)  I really don’t think there’s another season or time of year where our Savior gets more glory…

So I say, bring on Griswalds… hang up the lights, put up the tree… smatter yourself in flour up to your elbows…  but remember we’re blessed…

Remember the last scene in “It’s a Wonderful Life”…  we’re blessed.

Leave a Reply

