My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Practice…

We have practice for worship on Wednesday nights… that sounds kinda silly doesn’t it? “Practice for worship…” Well, the thing is, it kinda is how it sounds. The less you practice the less you can worship as you lead or play on Sunday…

We intro’d a song last week that Stephen has been in love with since hearing it at Catalyst two years ago and it FINALLY came out on a CD this year. It’s by Fee… Steve Fee that is. (sorry, really bad attempt at humor…) But it’s “Glory to God, Forever.”

If you’ve not heard it, you seriously need to youtube it. Or simply buy the CD. But, anyways, I love it. It’s a pretty simple song as far as chords and stuff go but it’s really powerful. Anyways, we’re manipulating it this week and I think it’s going to be really good. One thing that we’ve been trying to do really hard is this…

Stephen and I came from a church that has two different styles of worship… a blended and then a more modern feel (I hate the word contemporary so I refuse to use it…) and when we moved here to FBCnl in the transitional plan it called for two services that would follow that same model, if you will. However, it wasn’t until this past week that we were ready to do the two services growth wise. So, in the past year and really especially in the past six months we’ve worked really hard (a whole gang of people on our worship team) to line out services that are smack in the middle of those two type services.

I know that we’re not making everyone happy. But honestly, do you ever? Probably not. If you did you’d be doing fifty things and then only one or two of them would be at your best ability… So, we’ve committed to simply trying to put together the best services using the old and the new. One of the things that I love the most, and I have loved this for a few years now, is the Passion Hymns: Ancient and Modern.

I love the ‘meat’ of the hymns and the stories behind them. They tell the Christian legacy that I don’t think we should forget. They can enrich us like none other. However, in order to be relevant and to teach them and to share them with the generations that follow when they were written they may need to sound a little different… It’s kinda like Hannah Montana… The best of both worlds.

Anyways, this post may sound completely random and maybe it is. I really don’t have a major point to make or statement… I simply and saying I really like what we’re doing in worship right now. Rehearsal went well last night and think Sunday’s gonna be good. We’re opening with a choir feature that the band is playing… “A New Hallelujah” and the choir does really well on that song… then we’re doing “All Because of Jesus” which would be better if I could play all the right notes instead of 4 out of every 5… yeah, seriously. Then we’re going into a hymn that’s major guitar driven… “How Great Thou/You Are” Such a classic, I love it. Then into a crowd favorite but we’re switching it up a little this week… “God of the City.”

Anyways, I’m excited. I pray that wherever you worship on Saturday, Sunday, or whenever that you’re excited about this weekend. I’m expecting great things and I know my God never fails…

Glory to God, glory to God
Glory to God, forever…

Take my life and let it be
All for You and for Your glory.
Take my life and let it be Yours…

We sing… Glory to God.

PS… I have my first midterm/test in ten years today… agh! Oh, and my arms still hurt from kickboxing and I have to go back tonight! That’s all…

One response

  1. Kickboxing??

    Sorry, just had to be like dad.

    19 October 2009 at 4:33 am

Leave a Reply

