My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Dog Days of Summer…

It hit me today that this is the first fully non-working summer I’ve ever had… Last summer I wasn’t employed by the church but I was doing some part-time stuff for a friend and it was crazy all the way around because we were interviewing, etc… and I have to say…

I get and I LOVE the Dog Days of Summer.

We just got back from a friend’s pool and man it’s a perfect day… get up, eat pancakes, pick up the house, go to the pool, get back, find a Pampered Chef box on your doorstep, get the kids showered, get them in your bed watching a movie and ahhh… sweet peace. (Although, I’m craving a glass of sweet tea thanks to Kimberly’s comment earlier today…)

Let the dog days continue at least for a little while longer please…

Last night we were waiting, waiting, waiting… and waiting for Stephen and I was reading through some of the Psalms and man… I forget all the time how good those words are… There is something for every walk… no, ever STEP of a person’s journey… whether it’s a journey of faith or they are still seeking… I underlined or circled many but here’s one that I liked. I may be getting more from it than is actually there but here’s the verse and what I took:

Walk about Zion, go around her,
number her towers, consider well her ramparts,
go through the citadels,
that you may tell the next generation that this is God,
Our God forever and ever.
He will guide us forever.

As we’ve been taking next steps in church and feeling our way through change, as I mentioned yesterday, we’ve been seeing God move in some pretty cool ways and to me these verses resounded this: Look at what God has done! Consider it well and remember. This bears testimony to the next generation that THIS is God. He will continue to guide us.

I know that as younger leaders there’s sometimes a bad rap that comes along with the territory… “Those new fangled things… just give the old. If it’s not broken, don’t mess with it.” And, I also know that there are plenty of younger leaders that would like to press forward without taking stock of the what’s been behind us… And there has to be a balance… we’ve got to be able to pull from the richness of the heritage that has be GIVEN to us in the church work… there are men and women that went before us that have paved the way to where we are now… and yet we need to take stock and then PRESS FORWARD knowing that God will continue to guide us.

I’m sure it’s on the SBC website somewhere but the keynote address that Bro. John (Dr. Marshall) gave at the convention on Wednesday was really good and it came to mind when I read these verses…

So, press forward. Fall is approaching and it’s primetime to make a difference…

Leave a Reply

