My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

In the Still…

… of the night… oh come on, you know you’re humming the song!

This morning has been pretty quiet. The kids, after Charlie’s T-ball game last night, went home with Stephen mom and dad for the night and most of the day today and then we, Stephen, Sophia and I went to Brookville Grill with mom and Heidi…

Have I mentioned their pie?!? It’s almost beyond heaven on earth… I choose strawberry last night and Soph and I couldn’t fork it fast enough.

Anyways… enough about food… This morning I had a meeting and was at the church until an hour or so ago and now I’m enjoying the peace and quiet in my home. Sophia is down for a nap and I’m getting ready to do a crash course around the house… you know, pick up, toilets, kitchen, maybe vacuum… I know you know the quick one…

I had to mention an interesting book I read… It’s called “The Restorer” by Susan Hinck. I’m not in fantasy books, at all, and I didn’t realize that it was one when I got it from the library on Wednesday and I almost hung it up when I realized that it was going dimensional on me but I didn’t… it’s about a mom who enters a ‘portal’ into another world that resembles a ‘Lord of the Rings’ type atmosphere…

It was a good read, you just kinda have to come to grips with the fact that you have no clue where it’s going and it doesn’t really make sense so just go with it… but the thing I loved about was the truth that came out on almost every page. In this other world there is the One that these people serve and they combat their enemies, poisons, sicknesses, etc. with the Verses… the Scriptures… and those principles I think are so under-rated in my own life… I forget the power of God’s word and that’s one of the things that I was convicted about with the start of 2009… and I can attest in my own life that I know the days that I’ve dwelt in the Scriptures because they are present… now it doesn’t mean that I push them aside at times and lose it… but they are there and they seem to roll around inside my noggin…

Anyways, the book was good… If you get it, trust me… push on and enjoy it for what it is… if you like fantasy such as Tolkien or CS Lewis you’ll probably love it, although it’s not quite so hard to read so it may not be a challenge?!? Oh well, for what’s it’s worth… I enjoyed it. It was different.

3 responses

  1. 1. You made me want pie.
    2. The book sounds great!
    3. I somehow deleted our blog from my blogroll on accident and had to google and google until I found it again. Whew. Glad to be back. 🙂

    7 June 2009 at 4:21 am

  2. *your*… can’t type. craving pie… lol

    7 June 2009 at 4:22 am

  3. Oooh . . . I’ll have to tell Nathan about that book. He’s a Lewis/Tolkien fanatic!

    8 June 2009 at 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

