My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Grocery Shopping…

Today was an average housewife day. You know, laundry, ironing, dishes, sheets, poop in underwear, you know, the normal stuff… oh wait, did I say poop in underwear. Yes, I did. Poor Charlie has had a bug today. It has completely wiped him out and he spend many, many, many minutes on the throne today… and on the ground complaining that his belly hurt. Anyways, all is well, or at least going well at the moment.

Stephen came home for an early dinner (which, let me abbreviate that story… found new recipe for a marinade for pork chops… got good chops… marinaded them… cooked them… served them… cut them… molded! When to local chicken place… ate chicken…) and then had to head out to a viewing and then a meeting, or really vice versa, but you get the drift. So, he got home after a couple hours and I headed out to Mejier.

I had made my list, checked it twice, looked at the sales flyers and was super pumped about the fact that most of what I needed, or a least a good bit of it was on sale. (Chicken breast w/ bone $1/lb, softsoap $1, frozen green giant veggies $1, electrosol $2.50, you get the drift…) So, I start at the back of the store and work my way forward and begin to realize that I’m not seeing the things that are supposed to be on sale. Finally, when I get to the electrosol I call Stephen and asked him to grab the ad and look at the date… IT WAS LAST WEEK’S. I was not very happy! I knew I’d end up spending more than I thought…

However, our God is a redeeming God… did you know that all the deli meat that is sliced but has not sold gets packaged and marked down 50% around 9:30 pm each night? AND… the rotisserie chickens get marked down to $3? Now you do… I got a couple of really good deals on those items, and although I did not get fresh boned chicken breasts I did get the frozen ones for $3.50 a bag, which was less than half-price. So, I suppose it kinda worked out, I’m still a little bitter though.

The end result though is that I have healthy meals for a full week, including breakfasts and lunches. We are jumping back on the wagon that I bailed on two & a half years ago. The funny, ironic, providential thing, whatever you want to call it is this: I have been emailing back and forth with the lady that helped me last time and I sent her today my action plan, goals, starting weight, etc… made menus and went to Meijer… who do you think was there?!? Yup… Marci. “Yes, Lord, I know… I’m starting on Monday and I’m promising you that I’m taking it easy until then, too!”

2 responses

  1. Hi! I just wanted to say thanks so much for stopping by my blog AND for leaving a comment. I hope you’ll be back. Glad to have been some encouragement to you.

    28 February 2009 at 11:49 pm

  2. I feel the need to know the kind of things you cook every week. Since you cook so often, you must have lots of good ideas.

    I’m on a roll if I cook twice a week, so the meal ideas and good recipes are not always so easy to come up with. I know I’m going to be cooking a lot more often when we have kids, so I need to prepare myself by getting advice from cooks like you.

    28 March 2009 at 5:21 am

Leave a Reply

