My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Idols, Finally…

Simply put… I was not happy about Idols (American Idol, that is) being post-poned a night. Mess with our economy, fine. Mess with our TV, now you’re asking for it… I am SOOO kidding.

Today was pretty good. Yesterday was pretty good. This week has been pretty good. It’s been busy, except today. Today was a pretty simply day… laundry, bathroom, picking up, clean sheets, ironing, you know the drill.

Last night we went to the Mardi Gra festival at Dixie. There were TONS of people there, too many for comfort but none the less it was exciting to see so many people. Whenever I’m in something like that my mind starts working and going down the path, “How could we as a church somehow partner with the schools in this type thing?!?”

The last few weeks we’ve been dreaming, visioning, plotting, etc. There is so much potential and room to move and shake here in this city, and in this church. It’s overwhelming. It’s exciting. It’s enough to make you want to just get it down all TOMORROW!

Last week, we lost a very dear friend. His death has hit hard many, many people. Part of what makes his death hard is that it closes the door on an era at FBCV. Wayne and Pappaw had each been there over 25 years. They were used to build the church to what it is. They were the backbone, the core, the heritage… and now they’re gone. And we’re seeing that all across our country as these spiritual giants are being called home. So where does that leave us? I’ve loved this song for a while but we sang it at Apex on Saturday night and the lyrics to the second verse hit home for the first time…

I see a generation
Rising up to take the place
With selfless faith, with selfless faith
I see a near revival
Stirring as we pray and seek
We’re on our knees, we’re on our knees

Hosanna, Hosanna
Hosanna in the highest

Heal my heart and make it clean
Open up my eyes to the things unseen
Show me how to love like You have loved me
Break my heart for what breaks Yours
Everything I am for Your Kingdom’s cause
As I walk from earth into eternity

Hosanna, Hosanna
Hosanna in the Highest!

Man alive, talk about a hallelujah session breaking out inside. You know the feeling… it just starts to overwhelm and you just want to somehow express it but nothing seems to be enough… We are being passed a torch. These spiritual giants, our forefathers, if you will, have paved the road ahead of us. They faced a totally different set of circumstances and while none of these men and women were perfect, they loved their Savior and it was for His glory. I have felt recently, within the last year, that we are being charged (we as in you and me…) with pressing on because the time is fleeting. Yes, the delivery might change. Yes, the sound might change. Yes, things might simply have to change BUT… the message, the gospel, the pure love of the Savior does not change and that is what people are craving… or rather, that’s what we need to make people thirst for but our lives. Not just our words, but through our daily walk.

And that is where I can fail so miserably. No, I do not think that anyone would see my Jesus when I’m yelling at my kids, especially these dear sweet children that I’ve been entrusted with. But, man, there are times you want to ask, “Hello! Is there anyone in there!”

And all of this comes down to this… It’s a spiritual battle. Each and every day we’re faced with choices and it’s the choices that will define our testimony, be it good, be it bad… Will I get with it enough to step into the shoes of those that walked before me. They’ve left us, me, a heritage that is overwhelming… yet, they simply took it one day at a time. So, I suppose, tomorrow morning I’ll wake up and take it just like that… one day at a time…

One day at a time, sweet Jesus
That’s all I’m asking from you
Give me the strength
to do everything that I have to do
Yesterday’s gone sweet Jesus
And tomorrow may never be mine
Help me today
Show me the way
One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

