My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Resolutions Revisited

Okay, so the first week of a new month seemed like a good time to revisit my 2009 resolutions…  

#1 – Use Tags:  Well, I try to remember but it doesn’t always happen.

#2 – Read the Bible Through in a Year:  I’m actually almost up to day, I have to read a couple extra chapters today.  I’ve really enjoyed the plan that I’ve been using.  It’s the back of the new ESV study Bible.  The thing is this… You get a little Psalms, a little Genesis, a little 1 Chronicles, and a little Luke each day.  They have the books categorized into Psalms & Wisdom Literature, Pentateuch & History, Chronicles & Prophets, and Gospels & Epistles.  It’s kinda like a smorgasbord…  I’ve also learned a few things that I never knew such as…  Abraham remarried after Sarah died.

#3 – Lose Weight.  Yeah, not so much…  which is probably the leading reason for this post.  

#4 – Memorize 24 Passages of Scripture.  So far so good but this post ties with # 3…

So, A few years ago when I was working with a friend of mine, Marci, that my losing weight depends on discipline.  (You’re thinking… Duh!)  However, what’s more, the better spot I’m in spiritually on any given day, the more discipline & control I can have over my eating, which yes, I need to exercise, but right now I’m on the food issue.  You see, I’m a  circumstantial eater…  that’s not an excuse for anything, it simply is how I can define my eating.  So, I’ve not done so hot lately.  I really haven’t gained anything, my weight fluctuates within any given week up and down five pounds.  But, I have gained about five pounds since we moved and it’s there in my belly which is where all of my weight has landed since having Sophia.  So, I’ve got to get serious about it… got to.  

So, my Scripture for February 1 is this…  

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you whom you have from God?  You are not your own, for you were bought with a price.  So glorify God in your body.  1 Corinthians 6:19 ESV

I have going to be chewing this one day and night for the next two weeks and most because I’m going to claim it as a reminder that it’s not just my issue to lose weight…  it’s messes with God when I mess with my body…  it’s a reflection of my devotion and reverence towards something that He created…  

Another verse that I’m going to be claiming is one that goes hand in hand…

Hear O Lord, be merciful to me!  O Lord, be my helper!  Psalm 30:10

I cannot do it on my own…  So, what are my steps?!? 
1.  Memorize this scripture and commit to meditating on it…
2.  Have a plan of action… (See the new page…) 

One response

  1. great scripture and kindred battle.
    i shall join you on this path to temple discipline.

    if we think of our bodies as a temple and the things we choose to injest as being “unholy” it will help us to remember to keep our temples holy.

    thank you for your transparency.

    5 February 2009 at 2:33 am

Leave a Reply

