My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Biggest Loser, Our New President, and…

Well, it’s been a few days and my mind has been full. Yesterday, my mind was in a funk… you see, no I did not vote for our current president and I have huge problems with some of his policy. However, I KNOW that I serve a Sovereign God.

The thing is, I KNOW that, but I still wrestle with my feelings. I know that my job as a parent for the next four years is to teach my kids how to respect, support, and pray for our president. We were watching part of the events from yesterday last night and Charlie rolled over and said, “Dad, what good thing did Barack Obama do?”

Huh?!? You see, during the elections Madeline came home from school talking about the candidates so we did discuss who we were voting for with her, especially since Nickelodeon was honestly just plain slanted… anyways, back on task, so we did talk about some of the issues with them (and it was never about race…) So, since the election anytime President Obama has come up, it really hasn’t been that favorable but we constantly remind them that we are and will be praying for him and our country…

Back to last night, so Charlie saw him as President and didn’t see President Bush and couldn’t understand a)why we have a new president, b) what good thing he did to make him president… oh, brother…

I am just not ready to jump and cheer. Right now I find myself doubting his intentions with the ‘religious’ stuff… (Right now on Fox it’s the National Prayer Service) and to be completely transparent, it makes me a little ill and I know it’s wrong… but daggone it, I’m struggling… I guess where I’m struggling the most is simple… I hate the hype. I have one Savior and he was born over 2,000 years ago, not 40 some years ago…

I should probably change directions, but seriously, I’m struggling… I am praying for him, he’s got a tough job to do and is going to need the prayer support of every Christian in America. And, any exposure to the Word of God is beneficial… so I suppose, bring it on… no matter what the motive… bring on the Word.

I registered my scripture on LProof the other day, but I switched it last night. It wasn’t personal for me and last night when I was doing some reading I came across this passage that I loved and it kinda fits with the others that I have memorized this year so far…

The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul;
The testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple
The precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart
The commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes
The fear of the Lord is clean; enduring forever
The rules of the Lord are true, and righteous altogether

Psalm 19:7-9 ESV

So, that’s my new Word for meditation…

The last couple days I’ve been immersed in worship music, just flipping through cd’s, lifewayworship.com, and itunes trying to put together a listing of music for our worship teams… Stephen and I have spent the last two nights thumbing through them together and man, I love music… it truly is the language of the soul… There are so many good songs out there with such a rich message and wonderful music…

On Sunday, we had a group come in from Boyce to lead because our team was leading else where. The students did an awesome job. You know what my favorite part was? The drums… and the electric guitar… it was fabulous hearing and FEELING drums again…

Tonight, Stephen starts our new student service. If you think about it, please remember it in your prayers. Our students need stability and growth and maybe this is a tiny step in the right direction…

Well, this post is completely fragmented and doesn’t flow at all, my apologies… I’m still not thinking very smoothly, but I just wanted to touch base on it. I have a daughter yelling, “Mom..” from the bedroom and we need to head out and get a couple things for tonight…

Enjoy your day! (I just realized that I never mentioned BL… another day…)

3 responses

  1. you dont like Obama I like sime things about him

    24 January 2009 at 12:00 pm

    • It’s not that I don’t like him as a man, person, etc. I really don’t know him personally, neither do many people… however, I do not like a lot of his policies. They don’t line up with my plumb-line… the Scriptures. However, to reinforce my bottom line… It’s my privilege to pray for him as our president. He will need wisdom, grace, and so much more as he leads our country for the next four years.

      26 January 2009 at 11:04 am

  2. I personally have been grieving about the direction our nation will now be led in. One of the first things our new President did was change the whitehouse website….to include the news that he will repeal the marriage protection act, any bans on partial birth abortion, the ‘don’t ask don’t tell’ policy of the military.

    I will keep him in my prayers, but I agree, the new commander in chief, is NOT my savior….and my HOPE is not in him, but rather the Lord my God who made heaven and earth.

    A young teen at my church reminded us that candles glow brightest when it is darkest. May the LORD shine through each of His children.

    26 January 2009 at 8:38 am

Leave a Reply

