My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Poop in the morning…

This morning I was able to get some early learning in… Sophia and Charlie snoozed late (in fact, Charlie is still out!) and Maddie headed to school and Stephen to an appointment.  So, I was perusing around on some blogs that I read and re-entered Living Proof’s blog…  I hadn’t been there in a while because all I’ve had on the computer lately is 10 minutes here, 1o minutes there… anyways, so I was there and ended up watching a tutorial that Beth had put together on Scripture memorization.  She built an acrostic for it and it’s really pretty good…  You should check it out.

Last August when I was able to see her in Louisville, I had made a pledge to commit to memorizing scripture.  I did good for about a month but then we moved and I misplaced my notecard and you know you can’t possibly memorize scripture without notecards (I am SOOOO kidding… it’s one of my excuses, obviously!)  And so, that pledge was tabled.  Just the other night we were sitting at the dinner table and Stephen started saying a section from memory and it kinda reminded me that I had forgotten ot be doing that and then I was working with the kids on their AWANA verses on Wednesday and again was convicted of the fact that if I’m expecting them to be doing it then I need to be doing it as well.  

That was Wednesday and this is Friday, so two days had passed with no more movement on the thought… until this morning.  After watching the tutorial by Beth, reading through the scriptures that a TON of ladies are memorizing and re-realizing how much good stuff is the Book …  I’m in.  

Resolution #4 – Memorize 24 Scripture passes this year.  

Living Proof’s challenge is 24 scriptures in a year. Basically, you choose a scripture on the 1st & the 15th each month and post is on their site as a form of commitment. So, that’s what I’m doing.  I’m jumping in a few days late but the scripture I choose I’m already familiar with, but I think it’s perfect to start this resolution with…

All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.  (2 Timothy 3:16 & 17)

So, after making that commitment, Sophia woke up and I went to get her up.  Each morning we are greeted with one of the most smiling babes you’ll ever meet.  She stands up holding onto her rails, bounces, grins, laughs, and talks as we walk towards her to get her up.  Then you pick her up and you start smelling something… EVERY morning she greets us with a diaper full of poop.  So, every morning we take her and clean up the poo and start the day off with a fresh clean diaper.  

Where does that tie in with my previous line of thoughts…  well, I was thinking…  Do I greet my Father with the same enthusiasm as Sophia greets us?  Am I that anxious to get to know Him, to see His face in the morning?  Not quite.  Doesn’t He do, each morning, what we have to do for Sophia?  Take the poo away and give us a fresh day, full of promise?  YES!  

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.
 “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.”
(Lamentations 3:22-24, ESV)

So, as my daughter is now clawing away at my son (who has just regained his DS & Wii privileges after two weeks!) I must sign off to head to the day, but I’m hoping the mental picture that I saw today will be one to spur me on in this year of 2009.  Have a great day…

Leave a Reply

