My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Typing Fast…

Dumb title, I know but oh well… I’m typing fast right now because Stephen’s going to take the computer once he comes back in the room… he’s got to find a series to teach next Wednesday for the youth worship… so, here’s me, typing fast…

I’m really excited about this coming year. It seems like a year of promise. I’m sure that it’ll have it’s ups and downs, as always, but it’s exciting.

What’s exciting about 2009? You ask… well, in case you haven’t figured it out we’re serving in a new church (which you should check on the new website (I’m adding it to the side bar)) and we’ve got some really exciting ministry things coming up. That sounds really dumb but I don’t have time to explain other than saying that this… you know when you can ‘feel’ that something is coming?!? That’s the feeling we’ve got… Next Wednesday we’re starting a new youth worship service. We’re looking at an all new children’s curriculum for Sundays…among other things. Ministry is exciting…

Well, I probably won’t post any tomorrow or Friday, but I’m looking forward to them. They are filled with old and new…

Tomorrow night is Bunco night with the girls at FBCV… I haven’t seen most of them in a couple months. I’ve talked to several of them but it’s still not the same as sitting across from them. It’s probably been providential that some time has passed because honestly if we’d have had Bunco last month I think I would have just melted into tears at the sight of them… Last month was kinda rough, at the oddest times I would melt into tears at memories or the unfamiliar… Just in the past week or so we’ve run into more and more Vandalia friends in stores and restaurants and it’s been okay… It’s been nice but it has been debilitating. Hopefully that makes sense. All that to say, I’m looking forward to it.

Then on Friday… I’m hitting the town with new friends… the girls from FBCnl are going out for dinner and then a movie. Have you seen the previews for ‘Bride Wars’? It looks hilarious! I love Anne Hathaway! Anyways, I don’t know where we’re going to be eating at but anything sounds good to me, okay, maybe not anything, but anything normal. Then we’re heading to ‘Bride Wars’… I am super excited about it.

Well, my husband is heading in any moment now but I wanted to share one last thing that I read the other day… I’m 7 days into reading through the Bible and I’ve actually been able to glean quite a bit… although I must admit that genealogies KILL me! (I fell asleep today in 1 Chronicles 6 & 7… literally! and it was only 3:00 pm!) Anyways, I challenge you to find a plan to read through it this year…

Anyways, that’s not what I found… what I found was this… In Sunday school two weeks ago we were talking about asking God to show us where he wants us to be and where he is blessing instead of asking Him to bless where we are and then the next day in ‘Stepping Up’ I was in Psalm 127 and the same principle was being share…

It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for He gives to His beloved sleep.” Psalm 127:2

My prayer is simply that this year I would be able to see where God needs me to work… Get there, get busy… then be able to sit back, and rest knowing that I have done an honorable day’s work and I was where God needed me to be that day. I am a worrier. I make lists in my head when I’ve got a lot going on, especially laying in bed… Grocery lists, to do lists, banking lists, packing lists… any kind of lists. And this verse was so soothing and convicting at the same time… I don’t want to eat the anxious bread of toil and if I am faithfully being a good steward of my time AND energies I don’t need to worry about that… He gives to His beloved sleep.

Good Night…

One response

  1. Wow. I’m so convicted by that scripture. It’s gonna have to go on the refrigerator.

    8 January 2009 at 11:14 am

Leave a Reply

