My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Step Into the Future…

Oh, if you could be at my house right now…  Stephen and the kids (Maddie & Charlie) just left for a UD Game, Sophia is in her bed asleep (not for the night, just for a small catnap before night) and I am sitting here in the utter peace and quiet with my coffee and a piece of chocolate mint cheesecake from Trader Joe’s. (If you have one close by GET IT!!!  It’s  a small cheesecake but it’s only $5 and it’s delicious!)  Anyways, I am enjoying these moments right now!  

A Pilgrim’s Song
It seemed like a dream, too good to be true,
when GOD returned to Zion’s exiles.
We laughed, we sang, we couldn’t believe our good fortune.
We were the talk of the nations-“GOD was wonderful to them!”
God was wonderful to us; we are one happy people!
And now, GOD, do it again–bring rains to our drought-stricken lives
So those who planted their crops in despair will shout hurrahs at the harvest.
So those who went off with heavy hearts will come home laughing,
with armloads of blessings.
Psalms 126 (the Message)

Isn’t that an incredible Psalm?  I just finished my ‘Stepping Up’ and again, God is so good to speak directly to us.  It amazes me that a study or a message prepared without any knowledge of my present circumstances can peg so perfectly…  it’s God.  

WHen our lives are immersed in Him, every ending, everything we believe to be the death of us is instead a hand-engraved invitation to a new beginning. (B. Moore “Stepping Up” pg 75)

I won’t ever claim that Stephen and I have had the roughest life, or the most awful fortune… however, looking back at what we have experienced in the almost 9 years of our marriage is really a enough to fill a lifetime.  Each of our homes represents a stage in my mind:

Charter Woods:  Newlyweds – the issues common to newlyweds, we were rollin’ in the dough and didn’t realize it!  It wasn’t all rosy but we tended to just ignore the issues.  It was a fun year.

Valley Oak:  Maddie was born here and it was more of a transitional year.  It should have served as a warning of things to come.  The calm before the storm.  

Wolf Ave:  Crap hitting the fan.  This was our first home and we loved it in that moment.  (Oh, I forgot to mention that this was the fourth major purchase/financial obligation within a 6 month time frame and we also had Maddie in this window…)  Our world crashed one day when the business we both worked for went under taking with it over a month’s worth of income for us…  Bottom out.

Martindale:  This was a place of healing.  It wasn’t an easy place…  we had our creditors and a lot of mess to dig through.  Also, my past suitcases came flying open and Satan attacked hard here.  It was a joyful home though and we added Charlie. 

Jackson:  Our Horse House was a great experience for us.  It marked a lot of good growth.  During this season our path changed…  Stephen started seminary and he knew he was being called into a pastorial role someday.  We also experienced the greatest loss when pappaw passed away.  There was a lot of crud that surrounded all of this but it was a very growth provoking year.  We also found out we were expecting Sophia here.

Stonequarry:  This was our launchpad.  An incredible opportunity that allowed us to prepare for where we are now…although it was unbeknownst to us at the time that life would lead us on…

Marilee:  Home.  

Right now we are where the writer of Psalm 126 was…  we are in the upswing and honestly, there are times when I catch myself waiting for the other shoe to drop.  I have wanted to pinch myself because it seems like it could evaporate as quickly as God moved us here.  But, this is where we are called and God has purposed our lives for here…  

When we do meet difficulties and sorrows, they were not meant to stop us but to form the character required for our great harvest in the coming season.  Step into your future…something wonderful awaits you.  (B. Moore, Stepping Up, pg 79)

While I know that we are not done with the struggles this life holds, this season right now is proof that God redeems our mistakes, Satan attacks, and God’s refining moments.  While I struggle with FEELING equipped for this purpose, I KNOW that God has provided lots of life for me to draw from and if I’m lacking He will provide.  The best part of it is this:  We are trusting that God is going to do something amazing here…  FBCnl is poised for growth, they have the heart for the lost, and an excitement that is contagious…  We’re ready…  

Saddle up your horses, we’ve gotta trail to blaze…
(I couldn’t resist…) 


Leave a Reply

