My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Recap, Superglue & Humble Pie…

So, I was going to write this post on Saturday but the day got away.  For a brief recap here’s what’s been going on…

Saturday:  Mom and dad came over to the house and helped with some wallpaper issues and dad put in an attic access.  I will tell you one thing… we have NO excuses for not having a clean garage at this house.  We have a full attic for storage plus a shed.  PLUS a garage with a ton of cabinets in it.  IT’s really a huge blessing.  Storage is worth millions! 

Later that afternoon/evening we went to the Pork Festival in Eaton.  It was a nice evening.  For those who don’t know about the pork festival it’s every September…  It’s home to a TON of crafts and other booths at pretty good pricing.  It has lively pig races (yes, real pigs run around a ring and compete for an oreo cookie (I’m NOT joking…)  and it has heavenly pulled pork and pork chops.  (The sugarcream pie also looked amazing but we passed that up in hopes of a funnel cake which they did NOT have… our only disappointment of the evening.)

Sunday:  Sunday was kinda a weird day.  We went down to Fairview for church on Sunday morning.  They had a amazing worship service.  They have one of the HUGE pipe organs and what was cool is that they blended the pipe organ with a full orchestra…  AND bass, regular, and electric guitar, keyboard, and drums. It created an amazing sound.  We spent the rest of our day at Stephen’s mom and dad’s doing laundry.  I don’t remember how much I did but it was a lot. 

Yesterday was yesterday… actually it wasn’t simply yesterday…  Yesterday was Stephen’s first day as Sr/Lead/whatever you want to call it…Pastor at FBCNL.  It went well and we’re anxious for our first Sunday which will be this coming Sunday. 

So… that’s the recap.. now onto the superglue… Do you know how many things you can fix with superglue?!?

I fixed a lot of stuff the other day and it amazed me:  jewelry, lamps, dresser knobs, money jars, toilet paper holders and so much more!  I really like superglue.

And now, for the final item:  Humble Pie… 

Did you read my entry from Thursday/Friday night intitled, “Do I Look Stupid?”  Well, yes, as a matter of fact I was proved stupid on Saturday morning.  Saturday, we were unpacking more and putting some stuff together so Stephen got the box with the floor lamp still in it and started putting it together.  He called down the hallway, “Charity how many lamps came in this set?”

“Two, a desk and a floor”

“Well, someone must have put an extra lamp in here because there’s another desk one in the box.”

Dumm, dum, dum…

Yup…  you guessed correctly.  Charlie in fact had NOT taken the lamp out of the box in the van.  He had simply unpacked a lamp from a box in the house (which he wasn’t supposed to do either) and I didn’t recognize the lamp.  He was in fact correct that yes, the lamp on the box (and IN the box) does in fact have a puller and the lamp in his room did in fact have a clicker… 

Talk about feeling dumb…  I told Charlie that I had made a mistake and he just looked at me and said, “You mean, you know I wasn’t lying…  I KNEW it wasn’t a lie…”  THe look on his face was priceless and the egg on mine was too.

2 responses

  1. a. yay for storage! woot!
    b. i’ll be praying for stephen’s first official preaching week!
    c. i’ve never been so humble as motherhood as made me–i think it’s good for me though =)
    d. i’d love to help you trick out your blog, but i’m clueless about wordpress blogging–i’ll do some research and see if there is anything you can do–i think you can make your own header? hmm…

    23 September 2008 at 10:54 pm

  2. Jen

    So glad things are going well. It must be comforting to be getting settled in your home and ministry.

    24 September 2008 at 5:08 am

Leave a Reply

