My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Fall…

My mind is in a million different places right now and I don’t know how to get it focused.  I think it’s just going to be a little choppy for the moment. 

I’ve wanted to post something substantial for the last couple days but again… my mind comes to a jitterly blank… plus my kids are ready for SCHOOL!!!!  I’m ready for school to start… they’re kinda just being a lot of work right now and they’re pretty sick of each other most of the time, too.  And, the funny thing (not ha, ha, but rather UGH!!!) is that school is one of the uncertains in our life right now!  We finished up school supply shopping today… we worked off of two different lists and covered both bases… 

I think we’re going to head to the Jeffersonville Outlets this weekend and get a couple things for the kids for school and scope out some furniture at Pottery Barn Outlet…  I hope Oshkosk, Children’s Place, Gap, & Carters have good sales going on. 

Last week I was in Hobby Lobby and went through the fall decorations…  have I mentioned how much I love the fall.  It wells up within me… There are so many emotions tied to each season throughout the year but fall has got to be my favorite.  I LOVE the smells… Oh we went in Bath & Body last week and I thought I was in heaven… spiced cidar, the new leaf smell, cinnamon…  they’ve got some really great new ones.  I’m a little weird on somethings and smells are one of them.  I love the plugins at B&B BUT… for the most part my house has to smell the same throughout.  That means I have 6 – 8 plugins and they all have the same smell.  Here’s the other weird part… the smell has to match the season.  Linen is great for summer, spiced cider, pumpkin, or nutmeg for winter, pine, or something similar for fall, and something light like pear or a MILD flower for spring.  I haven’t gotten any in a while but I have two boxes that I need to exchange for the right season and I’m waiting until next week to do that and to plug them in. 

I think part of why I love fall so much is because it brings back a TON of memories.  I loved going back to school… not the first day, but a new start.  I was in marching band…  yes, I was/am a band geek.  My heart swells with emotion at Mr. Holland’s Opus and just recently August Rush… and I’m proud of it!  In fact, my senior year I was the head one…  Field Commander!  I even wore white go-go boots and looked really cute.  I have a picture I’ll post…

Also, the first year that Stephen and I were married… in our rich era… we went on two long weekend vacations in the fall and I can still remember those… we went to Brown County, Indiana, and then up in northern Ohio to Amish Country.  On those drives we listened to Diamond Rio, we saw them in concert in Brown County at this little place called, “The Little Grand Ol’ Opry”, and then Andrew Peterson CDs.  I love his music… check him out if you haven’t.  He’s got very poetic, storyish song lyrics.  One CD goes from Genesis to Revelation, basically, and another one does a lot of tributes to different family relationships.  They’re really good.

I also love browns… I am a brown person and therefore, fall decorations are right up my alley.  I love pumpkins and leaves and wheat things.  Anyways, I’m looking forward to it looking a little more like fall here in the next couple weeks.

Fall is also a great time of year for ministry… it’s always a new beginning and a refocus.  We have brand new 1st graders and it’s kinda the launch for another amazing year.  Planning for Upwards starts next month, we have a family festival planned, etc. 

Best of all:  You can start Christmas shopping and people don’t think you’re nuts! 

Christmas is my all-time favorite holiday but I won’t blog on that right now because that’s too far off.  I don’t want to waste it :O)

Well, my children finally are asleep, they fell asleep to (are you ready for this?!?) a Christmas movie!  Charlie had been asking to watch it for a week or so, so we finally put it in.

One last reason to look forward to fall…  we’ll be done waiting.  I know that doesn’t make sense.  If you’ve seen my facebook status… it won’t make sense either.  I’m simply sick of waiting.  My stomach is in knots and I’m bored which is making the time tick slower and I’m tired of waiting.  But, a friend mentioned today that I should enjoy this week because our life could get kicked into high gear soon… 

So, I am trying to savor the last few days of summer and the last few days at home with  my kids.  School will arrive soon enough and they’ll be gone…

4 responses

  1. Jen

    Just wanted to let you know I’m praying for you. We’re kind of in the same boat. We thought we’d be in Australia by now, but God’s ways are higher than ours. We’re waiting on our visas. There is nothing we can do to move the process. Just waiting on the Lord and His perfect timing. I’m on facebook, too. I couldn’t find your first or last name on here to add you. So if you’d like you can look me up – Jen Bauer.

    21 August 2008 at 9:36 am

  2. i ❤ fall!
    not going back to teaching each fall totally kills me but i’m so happy to be home with my babies!
    my ny family started a new tradition where we combine thanksgiving and christmas into one visit–christgiving or thanksmas–it’s now my totally favorite holiday ever =)

    22 August 2008 at 2:33 am

  3. I love, love fall too- for all of your reasons! Because where I live, the weather does not dictate the seasons, I use the calendar. My fall decorations go up on Sept. 15. I can only hope that pumpkins for my front porch are available by then!

    22 August 2008 at 4:26 am

  4. I so enjoyed this post! I love fall…the smells, the cool in the air (in Alabama, that happens around November) and football season!

    Thanks for the advice you left on my blog. Nice to “meet” you!

    22 August 2008 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

