My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Fear…

Last night a thought overwhelmed me that something I really don’t want to happen, and truly don’t think is the best thing to happen might…  What can I, or what should I do?  The issue as at the Lord’s feet…  He is in control and wants what’s best.  Is it my place to say it’s not he right plan?  No.  Do I have trust issues?  Yes.  So, what’s a person to do…

Father, I’m laying this at your feet.  You want, even more than I want, what’s best for your people.  Protect us from ourselves.  Have your will… please do not let us have what we cry out for but rather what you deseire for us.  Give me peace in the process, Father.  Please hasten what You would have done.  Here it is…

I was reading this morning from My Utmost…  Isn’t it strange, okay, let me rephrase…  I find it very strange that EVERYtime I pick up this book it speaks.  I can read the same thing too in different years and it can say something totally different…  This morning’s was really good…  I won’t type it all out because you can click here at grab it… 

It was/is entitled, “This Experience Must Come”.  Plainly put…  we can gather up experience but at some point we must take a step of faith and start using that experience.  …remember that the timew ill come when he [Elijah] must leave and will no longer be your guide and your leader, because God does not intend for him to stay… God says you must continue. 

Put into practice what you learned while with your “Elijah” –use his mantle and pray.  Make a determinationto trust in God, and do not even look for Elijah anymore.

I have had many different types of Elijah’s over the past couple years.  Some truly an “Elijah” – a mentor, a spritiual leader, and a friend.  Others are more illusive but still create comfort to me in ministry and in my life.  I don’t like risk because I don’t like failure.  I am very comfortable with the known.  I don’t like to risk myself or put myself out somewhere where I could be critiqued or even fail.  It’s part of that firstborn thing, I think.  But, sometimes without risk there’s not success (and I’m not talking about success in worldly terms, I just can’t think of better way to describe it.  But reading this morning I realize I must  Go…  Do…  Serve…  Take a Risk…  Jump off the deep end.

One response

  1. I feel your heart on this one! Praying for you!

    15 August 2008 at 7:40 am

Leave a Reply

