My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Bewildering…

I was purusing Travis Cotrell’s blog today and ran across a post he did on August 5th devotion from My Utmost for His Highest.  It spoke to me deeply, as God does every time I pick up MUFHH, it never fails. 

So, I spent some time tonight re-reading it and I was struck/convicted/whatever word seems appropriate by two thoughts…

If we are in fellowship and oneness with God and recognize that He is taking us into His purposes, then we will no longer strive to find out what His purposes are. 

We begin to see that the compelling purpose of God lies behind everything in life, and God is divinely shaping us into onesness with that purpose.

How many times have I posted in the last month or so, “I can handle anything, I just want to know…”  UGH!  I know (head-knowledge, not always the knowledge I act upon) that our lives are being orchestrated for His purpose.  I was reminded of that this past weeked at Living Proof…  It’s really exciting to think that everything, EVERYTHING is working it’s way into a beautiful weaving that will share our story and every thread, every trial, every hurt, every joy, every step of the way will be redeemed and is useful for His purposes.  I am chomping at the bit for the next step of our story, but I need to rest in his assurances. 

God is sovereighly workign out His purposes.

A friend of mine, Pam, called me today and while we were talking she shared what she had studied this morning in her time with our Father.  She was in the story of the Israelites where God was instructing them for the Passover.  God instructed the Israelites to prepare and then leave the rest to Him…

That’s what I’m called to do.  Prepare to serve.  Be faithful in the next step, or even THIS step.  I am praying right now for such a vast hunger and thirst for the Word that it is unquenchable…  I’ve desired this before and busyness has crept in, life has happened…  I want such a burning desire that it can’t be snuffed out. 

FATHER, PLEASE…

I want to rely solely on Him… A Christian is someone who trusts in the knowledge and the wisdom of GOd, not in his own abilities.  Lord, give me peace.  Continue preparing me for your purpose…  Make me competantly competant.

Leave a Reply

