My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Sunday Afternoons…

I am sitting here in the traditional Sunday afternoon position…  sitting in a reclined position, stomach full, and kids, mostly, asleep.  (1 down, 1 almost, 1 shortly…all in good time!)  

I was wishing that I had something profound to share but I really don’t.  God has been speaking in whispers lately.  No huge revelations.  No lightening bolts.  Simply quiet whispers of reassurances that He is still present and we are still in His hands.  

I read through Hebrews 12 earlier today, which you can read through Bible Gateway by clicking here…  I really like Hebrews.  Chapter 12 ends like this:

Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our “God is a consuming fire.”  Hebrews 12:28 & 29

I really like those two verses.  It’s kinda solid summary of our Christian walk.  We are receiving a kingdom that can’t be shaken… no matter who, what, where, when, why, or how so we simply need to be thankful and worship our Father.  I love that it speaks about worshipping with reverence and awe… I am a musician at heart.  I’m mediocre at best in person, but I love music.  It speaks to me, influences me, and consumes me.   I think sometimes we can approach worship wrong and I love that we’re reminded about the greatness of the Father that we worship…

I have also struggled the past several days with a poop mood.  It comes and it goes and for some reason it seems the kids have been more trying than ever.  They are fighting almost constantly and it’s over/about the most STUPID things ever.  And I have completely lost it with them.  I was put in place last night when reading Angie’s blog Bring the Rain.  I don’t want my kids to remember me yelling at them.  They will be disciplined, it’s a way that we show we love our kids, but I want to portray Christ to them through my disciple, an unfortunately it doesn’t.  

“God is a consuming fire”

Father, please consume me so that ever part of my life, my vision, my passion, my loves… simply put, my life, reflect the glory of your blaze.

Please, if you remember, pray for the team as they do last week preparation for their trip.  They leave one week from today. 

p.s.  Please know that yesterday’s post is a pure dream…  I will hopefully/probably need a washer and dryer in the next month or so, I do want a front loading set, however, it will be a solid, basic washer/dryer that will last for the next 25 years.

One response

  1. ah! i know what you mean about God and those times of whispering–we’ve definitely there right now–as we wait for directly and doors we’re sure we should walk through. He is good and we’ve never been where we weren’t supposed to be so I take that as comfort =)

    Oh! and disciplining my girl over and over and over again for the same boundary pushing behavior really does wear a mama down–but sometimes I sit back and see how far she’s come and what a joy she is and feel that there must be, somewhere, someday, somehow, a light at the end of the tunnel!

    30 July 2008 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

