My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

The Road Not Taken…

The Road Not Taken

By Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth.

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same.

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,

I thought of this poem today.  I think we studied it in 9th or 10th grade English class.  Last night we spent a couple hours talking with some people and I was once again reminded about how different the path is that we are currently walking on compared with the path that we originally set out to travel…

Some of the redirection was of our own doing, some of the detours were forced upon us, and some still were simply part of ‘the Plan’. 

I don’t think that I would have chosen to walk down the road less traveled had I had the ultimate choice.  I like the known…  I can deal with almost anything, but I’d like to be able to plan it. 

Wouldn’t you know that right now I am sitting in the unknown.  Almost every part of our life hangs in the balance right now.  I can’t make a decision about almost anything.  You may think I’m exagerating, but really… I promise I’m not. 

And while we’re kinda stuck treading water (which totally off subject but did you know that in order to pass a life guard test you have to pass a treading test while holding a 20 lb brick above the water!!!  HOLY COW!!!  I so could NOT do that!)

Anyways, even though we’re kinda at a halt…  my stomach knots, my head can’t focus, I break into random tears at times, despite, or maybe inspite of it all I have peace.  I read these verses on a new blogger friend’s post from the other day…

“If you need wisdom, if you want to know what God wants you to do , ask Him, and He will gladly tell you. He will not resent your asking. But when you ask him, be sure that you really expect him to answer, for a doubtful mind is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. People like that should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. They can’t make up their minds. They waver back and forth in everything they do.”
-James 1:5-8

It may not seem to fit but it does.  You see, on Sunday night at camp Jeremy Lee, an amazing speaker from teh Nashville area, spoke.  As he was speaking the thoughts were wrestling through my mind and during his closing prayer he ended by saying something like this:  If you’re wrestling with something, step out in faith.  It kills me I can’t remember exactly what he said but I just know I felt like it was major confirmation. 

We’ve been praying for wisdom and seeking guidance.  In a way, from here on out it’s out of our hands…  We simply have to be ourselves and let God handle the rest.  On the other hand, after a meeting the other day, as we were driving home Stephen looked over and said, “You seem pretty quiet and not excited…”  I told him I was simply thinking through logistics… which I was and am… but to be truthful there is a good amount of fear inside of me.  We were ‘burnt’ before.  I was excited before and the rug was pulled out from under us so I honestly am trying to guard against getting hurt.  But without risk, there’s never success…

I realize there is a lot of rambling here but my heart is full, my mind split & confused, my soul at peace, and I have confidence in the direction that my Savior is leading…

(Oh AND I GOT A TICKET TO THE SOLD OUT BETH MOORE CONFERENCE NEXT FRIDAY & SATURDAY!  I have been on the waiting list for months and I finally got one!  I am SOOOO excited about that!)

One response

  1. i’ve heard there are a lot of great churches in NJ =)

    26 July 2008 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

