My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Found It… (the Beginning of Our Story)

“Being in love is a good thing, but it is not the best thing.
There are many things below it, but there are also things above it.
You cannot make it the basis of a whole life.
It is a noble feeling, but it is still a feeling.

Now no feeling can be relied on to last in its full intensity,
or even to last at all.
In fact, the state of being in love usually does not last…
But of course ceasing to be ‘ in love’ doesn’t mean ceasing to love.

Love…. is a deep unity, maintained by the will and
deliberately strengthened by habit;
reinforced by the grace which both partners ask and receive from God…”

I love this passage from Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. The website I found it from had the next portion of the passage which I had never read before and I like it too… 

They can retain this love even when each would easily,
if they allowed themselves, be ‘in love’ with someone else.
‘Being in love’  first moved them to promise fidelity;
this quieter love enables them to keep their promise.

It is on this love that the engine of marriage is run:
being in love was the explosion that started it.”

This passage is probably a good lead into part of our story, which I said I would start posts ago and never did, Sophia got hungry, I think :o) 

Our story kinda started a few years prior to this mission trip (Stephen didn’t go on this trip but it does  play a part in our story) – Stephen and his family had lived in the Cleveland area until his dad went into fulltime evangelism.  When that happened they moved here to Vandalia so that they would be closer to mammaw & pappaw and it would serve as their base.  Now I had met Stephen several times before them moving here but didn’t pay much attention because he was SOOOOO much older.  His mammaw & pappaw though had been an integral part of my childhood.  They were my surrogate grandparents in elementary because mine were 6 hours away, pappaw baptized me once I was old enough to ‘hold my breath under water’, etc.  They were also the reason we found First Baptist – when my dad was stationed in St. Louis we went to church with a lady named Arenabelle, I loved her and you would too if you knew her…  Anyways, when we were transfered to Dayton she said, “My brother pastors a church near there…” and the rest is history.  Pretty cool how God works. 

Anyways, so about my 7th/8th grade year Stephen and his family started coming to FBC, especially youth group (Stephen would have been Junior year or so.)  I thought he was SO hot, they had just done a series of revivals in Florida and he was darker than a Mexican…  all the girls thought he was cute.  Over the next couple years I got to be friends with him, I’m still not really sure what started it but we… actually, I just remembered one of the first times we talked, I had just gotten back from Disney World in 8th grade and had my pictures from our trip at church, we were in the sanctuary for some reason, I think the youth choir was singing that night, maybe… anyways he aske dto see them.  So we talked about Disney for a while.

After that we just ended up talking quite often which was a miracle ot me because if you could see picture (which I swear one day I’ll post it, I just have to scan a couple in) you would know exactly what I’m talking about… BIG hair that was long, BIG glasses, and not a ton of confidence and he was tall, dark, and handsome… really, he was/is.

So for a couple years we got to be friends.  We’d hang out on youth events and in the nursery, i was always babysitting down there on Wednesday for choir and Sunday afternoons for something, I can’t remember…

Well, that’s the simple beginning.  I’m going to run but I’ll add more later.

One response

  1. Pingback: Call Me Sentimental… « Plan B

Leave a Reply

