My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Whose Will Is It?

I was doing a search for a CS Lewis passage that Stephen had shared with me years ago…  we were dating, it was fall and I think the year was 1997… Anyways, I’ll keep searching because it’s a really good poem/passage but while searching I found this quote that I now love:

There are two kinds of people: those who say to God, “Thy will be done,” and those to whom God says, “All right, then, have it your way ~C.S. Lewis

It’s funny to me because I know that I’ve said that once, or twice, or maybe like a lot… and despite it all God has continued to move and work in, through, on, and with me…  And as chuckling as this quote strikes me I don’t want it to be true in my life.  I’m clueless about the next chapter in our lives and I want to shout “Thy Will” and not pout and stomp and said, “FINE!  I guess we’ll try it your way!” 

I want to be used and I want our family to be used.  My deepest desire is that we are able to serve whole heartidly, with passion and zeal, to the utmost of our ability and never giving second rate ministry, show Christ with words AND actions, live transparently in the worlds of our family, friends, and strangers alike so that others can learn from our mistakes, laugh with us at them, and sometimes grieve with us through them.

We had been talking about the weight attached to working in ministry and not in a bad way…  it’s simply that to most people that we meet we will represent, good or bad, Christ, His church and His followers and through the years we have seen men and women get caught up so quick that I don’t know if they know what’s caught them in a stronghold and it has ruined their lives… but more so it has a ripple effect that can never be measured this side of heaven.  It tears me up to think about how a pastor (in any capacity: children, youth, adults, etc.) can make a mistake that ANYone can make but how it can have such far stretching effects… it’s humbly and scary and makes me want to bath my husband and our in prayer because I want him to be used to the fullest and I don’t want anyone of us to be demise of another’s eternity.

Anyways, on to looking for that quote…

Leave a Reply

