My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

What’s a Pastor’s Wife?

Stephen and I got in a lighthearted debate last night but it was one that has been echoing through my head over the past several weeks. 

What is a pastor’s wife?  We have known that Stephen is called to serve as a senior pastor for a while, we’re just not sure of God’s timing right now.  However, in thinking, praying and being excited at possiblities it hit me the other day that when Stephen is called to serve in that capacity I won’t have one ministry to serve alongside of him in.  All of married years (8 1/2 to be exact) he has served with youth or children and I have served alongside of him.  There is one thing that I know to be true and it’s this:  in High School I felt a call to ministry.  Now at that time I thought it would be foreign mission work but non the less, I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I am supposed to be involved in ministry within the local church body. 

For the past 8 years Stephen and I have worked side by side.  Him in front, me in back…  God designed us with very complimentary gifts and abilities and we make a very good team.  I love the local church and the work that goes into it and anytime something new comes up my mind automatically goes to okay, yeah, that’s what would work, I could do this, oh, I would love to volunteer for that… 

So anyways, all that to say I’ve been trying to figure out what I want to do when I grow up.  (I’ve also been making a list of things that I would like in my ‘forever’ home) So, here’s what I’m thinking.  I don’t ever want to be a trophy pastor’s wife.  I want to get dirty… I want to be in there working along side.  I know that it will look differently through the years to come because I am first called to be a wife and a mother and the needs of an 8 week old, 4.5 year old, and 7 year old will be remarkably different than 3 teenagers.  But I definitely want to be able to open up our home for a regular small group.  I love baking and cooking for people so I’ll make good fattening food once a week for people…  I would also like to keep up with cooking meals.  In the past few weeks I’ve been able to take dinners to several of our friends for various reasons and I LOVE doing that.  (My aspiration is to sharpen my skills and go on Top Chef one day :O) )  But aside from that I don’t know.  I love designed publications and promotions, I love worship, but I don’t have the best voice, I would like the opportunity to be a children/youth small group leader without the added responsibilities of thinking about the entire ministry…  I don’t know what I’ll be when I grow up but here’s a list of things I would like in our forever home:

1.  a lilac bush  (I love them!)
2.  a deck or porch so we can cookout and hang out
3.  wood floors somewhere (but not everywhere, I love carpet for bedrooms especially, soft carpet!)
4.  white trim
5.  an area for the computer that is central and in the open (or like right now our bedroom is divided into two different spaces and that’s okay I just don’t want the computer secluded or in one of our kid’s rooms.)
6.  the smallest wish of all:  a baby grand piano with a mahogany finish (not to be picky…)

I realize #6 will probably NEVER happen but if you don’t dream, what is there to strive for?

So anyways, that’s my dilemma… what type of a pastor’s wife do I want to be?  (I wonder if Saundra Stanley ever wondered that?!?)

Leave a Reply

