My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

At last…

Well, it’s been a while, retarded actually, but oh well. The past couple weeks have been busy and I don’t exactly know why but I haven’t been able to sit down at the computer table, book, and Bible and spent much quiet time. It’s more than likely due to my mismanaged time but it has felt like my head has spun…

Today, it’s actually quiet. There’s laundry that needs to be put in but I’ll do that in a minute. THe kitchen is relatively clean, the dishes ARE all clean, the bathrooms need to be releaved of the their dirty towels and the sinks wiped down, the couch needs to be vacuumed out, I’m sure there’s more but right now I’m enjoying the breeze through my window and I’m going to enjoy the quiet peacefulness of this moment because… this too shall pass.

Yesterday was a little crazy, Charlie had his tonsils out. He did great but it’s just not a fun experience for him or for us… The twilight drugs they gave him made him loopy, man was he giggly and while I’d much rather see him like that, it was still awful to see your child not able to hold his head up, not able to look at anything and focus on it, and completely unaware… however, as I said, I’d still rather see that then crying, desperation, etc. The doctor did an amazingly quick job… Charlie had his tonsils and adnoids removed and it only took 20 minutes! That’s so crazy!

Charlie is going to be a slightly testy patient. He doesn’t have patience and right now he’s feeling good enough to smart back over little stuff. We’re awaiting the days 3 – 5, everything I’ve read and everyone I’ve talked to have said these are the bad days… oh what joy! Of course it lands on a Sunday, why wouldn’t it… (ha)

I read today out of My Utmost for His Highest (I’m having a hard time with the current ladies Bible study at church, it’s probably me and my learning style but I’m just not getting it…) and it was a really good reminder…

As workers for God, we must reproduce our own kind spiritually, and those lives will be God’s testimony to us as His workers. God brings us up to a standard of life through His grace, and we are responsible for reproducing that same standard in others.

Stephen and I have spent a lot of time evaluating and reevaluating our ministry, our passions, our callings within this past year and a lot of times, maybe even most of the time, success in churches is measured by numbers… how many were in worship, how many made decisions, how many were baptized, etc. And while, there really isn’t a more tangible way to evaluate a lot of what churches and pastors do in minstry, Chambers says, We have commercialized the view–we count how many souls have been saved and sanctified, we thank God, and then we think everything is all right. Yet our work is not to save souls, but to disciple them. Salvation and sanctification are the work of God’s soverign grace…

Anyways, I’ll post more later, but the laundry is calling my name, Charlie has been too quiet, and Sophia is now squeaking…

And so Jesus also suffered outside the city gate to make the people holy through his own blood. Let us, then, go to him outside the camp, bearing the disgrace he bore. For we do not have an enduring city, but we are looking for the city that is to come. Through JEsus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of praise–the fruit of lips that confess His name.

Leave a Reply

