My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Quieted By His Love

On Friday, Stephen picked up a devotional book from Family Christian called Glory Revealed by David Nasser. We started it today, independantly, and I just finished today’s reading. Today it talked about how God wants us to be stunned by the love that He displays. While, His sacrifice on the cross should be enough to render us speechless daily, He continues to lavish His love on us.

“Why does he do it? Because His glory is revealed when he shows us a love so mighty, powerful, and pure that we find ourselves wanting him even more. He wants us smitten. Dumfounded. Flat-out taken.”


One of the discussion questions for today is this: Think of the times in your life when God has sucked the air out of the room on your behalf. Describe those moments when he quieted you with his love.

This past year has been one that has exercised my heart: Some stretching, pulling, squeezing, growing, etc and I can’t exactly label a month or two that was harder than the rest. There have been multiple ‘flair-ups’ that have really tested my faith… Most of the stretching stemmed from one event: Last March, my papaw-in-law suffered a stroke.

But you see, Papaw, wasn’t simply a Papaw, he was my pastor, my boss, my husband’s look to, a GREAT Great-Papaw to our kids, a pillar in our community, the most tremendous example of a Godly husband, and so much more.

And over the five months that followed his stroke as he laid in ICU or in the nursing facility, our family was put to the test. Some of them we passed, others we failed. Many nights Stephen and I would lay in bed and just wonder at what was happening in the heavenly realm that was invisible yet surrounded us because as much crap that was happening on earth, surely it was purposed for the glory of the Kingdom, surely!

Verses such as those found in Romans 8 came to mean so much because they held the promise of His purposes and plans:

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to His purpose. … What then shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son, but gave Him up for us all–how will he not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things?… Christ Jesus, who died–more than that, who was raised to life, is a t the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? … No, in all these things we are more than conquerers through Him who loved us.

Many times, through those months God revealed His love for our family and left Stephen and I speechless. However, I have never experienced God’s glory like I did at Papaw’s funeral, which took place on July 17th. His funeral was planned to be a celebration of his Savior and his life, which he lived for his Savior. It was a well lived, complete, and to God’s glory life.

Our worship band played at the funeral and we worshipped because that’s what Papaw would have wanted and because during that moment there wasn’t anything else that we could do but cling to the only One that knew what was going on and that could provide peace and assurance.

And during those moments of Jesus Paid It All God revealed His glory to me and He was so close I could feel His breathe…

And when before the throne, I stand in Him complete
“Jesus died my soul to save” my lips shall still repeat…

O praise the One who paid the debt
And raise this life up from the dead

Leave a Reply

