My life is simply that. A weaving. We live in small town USA and I'm living a life I love…

Near Success… Tres Leches Cheesecake

Okay, I almost conquered the Cheesecake Factory Tres Leches Cheesecake.  It’s quite the same, but it’s dog-gone good.  Here’s the recipe if anyone wants it.  It is by no means low-fat, low-calorie, or low-carb.  Eat it on a free day :O)

***WARNING:  This recipe will dirty up almost every stinkin’ dish, mixing bowl, utensil, spatula, and pampered chef accessory you may have.***

Tres Leche Cheesecake
by Charity

Cake Layer Ingrediants:
1 cup White Sugar
5 egg yolks, 5 egg whites
1/3 cup half & half
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 – 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
1 – 12 oz can coconut milk OR evaporated milk (I used coconut because I like it and the can was 14 oz, that’s okay)
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

Cheesecake Layer Ingrediants
3 – 8 oz cream cheese bricks, softened
1 cup White Sugar
1/2 cup half & half
3 large eggs
3/4 cup sour cream
1 Tbsp Vanilla Extract
scant 1/4 cup flour

Additional Ingrediants
1 1/2 cups + a couple additional drips of Whipping Cream
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 quarts strawberries
4 oz. Cream Cheese
1/2 cup White Sugar
1/2 tsp. Vanilla
1/4 cup milk

Part One:  Tres leches
1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter & flour the bottom of a 9″ springform pan.
2.  Beat the 5 eggs yolks with 3/4 cup sugar until mixture is a light yellow color and doubled in size.  Stir in 1/3 cup of half & half, 1 tsp, vanilla, 1 cup flour, and 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder.
3.  In small bowl beat eggs whites until soft peaks form.  Gradually add remaining 1/4 cup sugar.  Beat until firm but not dry.  Fold egg whites into yolk mixture.  Pour into prepared pan.
4.  Bake for 45 minutes or until cake tester inserted into the middle comes out clean.  (It will look a little overdone.)  Allow to cool 10 minutes.
5.  Loosen edge of cake with knife before removing the sides of the pan.  Cool cake completely.  Place bottom side down on a serving platter that has an edge so liquid can’t roll off.  Level the cake by cutting the top off, a bread knife works well for this (use a short sawing motion so it doesn’t tear the top apart.)
6.  Mix together the can of condensed milk, can of evaporated/coconut milk, and 1/4 cup whipping cream.  Remove a little over a cup of the liquid and reserve in a separate bowl.  Pour the remaining mixture over the cake.  Pour it slowly so it has a chance to be absorbed and not just run off the sides.  Set this aside.

Part Two:  Cheesecake
1.  Keep your oven at 350 degrees.  Wash and dry the springform baking pan.  Line the bottom with parchment paper.  Set aside.
2.  In large bowl combine 24 oz. cream cheese, 1 Tbsp. vanilla, 1 cup sugar and beat until smooth (about 5 minutes).
3.  Add in 1/2 cup of half & half and mix until well blended.
4.  Break 3 eggs in a separate bowl and beat slightly.  Add to cream cheese mixture, beat until combined.
5.  Add 3/4 cup sour cream and a scant 1/4 cup of flour, beat until combined and smooth.
6.  Pour into prepared pan and bake for 1 hour. 
7.  After 1 hour turn off the oven heat (keep oven door closed).  Let the cheesecake sit in the oven for 1 hour without heat.  (This helps prevent cracking, supposidly… mine still cracked.)
8.  Remove from oven, run a knife along the sides and remove the sides of the pan.  Let cool completely by placing in fridge.  (this will take a couple hours, I didn’t let it cool completely and it make the next part more sticky… well, more mess :O)

Part Three:  Assembling
1.  Slice the 2 quarts of strawberries.  Line the top of the cake with a single layer of thinly sliced strawberries. 
2.  Now the fun…  Invert the cheesecake onto another plate of your choice.  Now… carefully and swiftly, I promise swiftly is better… re-invert the cheesecake onto the cake layer.  Good luck… I started about ten times, prayed about a dozen, and finally pretty much closed my eyes and flipped.
3.  In small bowl beat 4 oz. cream cheese, a small dribble or two of whipping cream, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/2 tsp. vanilla together.  Spread this mixture on top of cheesecake.  (It should be the consistency of cool whip.  If it’s thicker, add more whipping cream or milk, your choice.)
4.  Beat the reamining 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream.  After it started to stiffen add in the powdered sugar. 
5.  Grab the reserved liquid from the cake and add to it 1/4 cup milk.  Set aside.
6.  Put the whipping cream in a ziplock bag, snip corner.  Pipe a decorative trim along the plate where the cake meets the plate and on the top of the cheesecake to hide any ugly corners.  Drop a few strawberry pieces along both rims to decorate.  Add a dollup of whipped cream on the top center and top with a strawberry.
5.  Mash up the remaining strawberries and sugar to taste. 

Part Four:  Serving…
1.  Place a slice of the cheesecake on a plate.
2.  Drizzle with the milk mixture.
3.  Garnish with Strawberries and additional whipped cream.

ENJOY!  I’ll continue to tweak and if I make any changes I’ll post them. 

8 responses

  1. Sarah

    I’m going to try this! I always wanted to taste the actual version but they’ve gone and dis-continued it. Darn it all!

    4 February 2009 at 8:04 am

    • This is a very sad day in my life… I didn’t realize they discontinued it…

      4 February 2009 at 9:47 pm

  2. Sarah

    I made it today, it gets eaten tomorrow & I’ll let you know how it goes over. A good bit of advice on getting cheesecakes to behave (not crack) in the oven is put about an inch of warm water into a 13′ casserole dish and wrap the outside of the 9′ springform pan in foil, then sit the springform in the water to bake…supposedly it distributes the heat evenly. I haven’t had a crack since I’ve been doing it. Thanks again for the recipe!

    12 February 2009 at 9:08 am

  3. Rebekah

    Thank you so much for this recipe! I was very upset when I went all the way to the cheesecake factory and they no longer have it on the menu! I dont know why they whould ever do that it seeing as though was the most amazing thing I have ever tasted. I thought I would never be able to have it agian until now… let’s just hope I can make it as good as they can :) Again, thank you it must have taken a long time to figure this one out

    25 November 2009 at 3:47 am

  4. Bal

    Same as above: for cheesecake not to crack… Tightly wrap bottom of springform pan with 2 layers of foil. Place in baking dish filled with hot water (you boil it in kettle) up to 1/2 of the springform pan. When cheesecake is done turn off oven & prop door open a few inches & leave it in there for 1 hour. No cracking!

    5 December 2009 at 1:29 am

  5. lupe

    hi!, is it possible that this can be made with No Bake Cheesecake?

    19 August 2010 at 1:10 am

  6. I’m not sure I unerstand all that is going on with this page. I simply wanted a Tres Leches cheesecake recipe and went thru Google. It, the recipe, does sound “involved”, but I like what I see as far as ingredients, and no worthwhile recipe for something like this is going to be “short”! I also like ” The Weaver” very much. Thank you, and I will “post” my results after taking the cheesecake to our son’s for Thanksgiving!

    14 November 2012 at 9:29 pm

  7. I made it for Thanksgiving….transported it for 2 hours in the car, with the whipped cream and blackberries decorations! It was for the mostpart, for our son. Our sweet daughter-in-law had not asked for a dessert along with our other contributions, but when we arrived and I told her what kind of cheesecake it was, she said, ” ….it is your son’s favorite, Tres Leches, and that makes all the difference in the world”, and she gave me a big hug!

    The cake was, in a word, divine! I had NO problem making it. I let the cheesecake layer stay in the fridge overnight, and “inverting & re-inverting” onto the cake layer was….wait for it…wait for it…..”a piece of cake”. Yes, I had many dirty dishes and utensils….some Pampered Chef…but it was so worth it! I always put my aluminum wrapped cheesecake pan on a cookie sheet with water, and I have never had a cheesecake with cracks! Either I am very lucky, or the water trick works! I’m not sure about the oven door staying closed for an hour after you turn off the heat, since I did not do that.

    Thank you so much for a great recipe! I, for one, am very happy that you went to all that trouble, and that I found your “page”! You knew what you were doing!

    Merry Christmas!
    Bobbie Bartsch

    26 November 2012 at 3:43 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.